Can A Pinned Piece Give Check? (The Truth)

can-a-pinned-piece-give-check

Can a pinned piece give check? In short, a pinned piece can give check. As per the standard rules of chess, a chess piece can deliver check even if it can’t move from its square because then its king will be exposed to attack.  This is clearly mentioned in the FIDE Laws of Chess article … Read more

Should You Sacrifice A Bishop For A Knight? (Explained!)

should-you-trade-a-bishop-for-a-knight

During the trading of pieces, you have to take decisions very carefully. Even the slightest mistake can lead to major consequences. Among all the exchanges, most often you might get confused about is, should you sacrifice a bishop for a knight? It is favorable to sacrifice a bishop for a knight in closed positions because … Read more